KIA Board

The KIA Board includes:

The Grand Jury

The Grand Jury is chaired by the President of IROST and composed with

  • The Chairman of the KIA
  • The Executive Chairman of the KIA
  • Fifteen eminent scientists in different fields of Science and Technology

The Grand Jury reviews and discusses the short list presented by the heads of the Scientific Committees. The Grand Jury chooses the Laureates by a majority vote. Its decision is final and without appeal. It cannot be contested or subject to explanation or justification. The results will be communicated by E-mail to the KIA Laureates at the end of the deliberation process, and remain confidential until the official announcement.

Executive Committee

  • The President of IROST
  • The Chairman of the KIA
  • The Executive Chairman
  •  The Executive Experts Group

Scientific Committees

 Applications submitted to the KIA, are forwarded after registration to the Scientific Committees according to the regulations and deadlines fixed each year in the call for participation. Each edition, the heads of the Scientific Committees are officially selected by the chairman of the KIA. These committees are composed of highly-authoritative academics coming from different scientific institutions and representing different disciplines. In autumn, these Scientific Committees, each composed of different scientific groups, examine each application according to determined regulations and criteria. They might contact the candidates for further information. Where Scientific Committee Members feel that they would benefit from additional expertise in tackling a particular application or issue, they might consult external experts and/or invite them to join the committee for a better expertise. At the end, the head of each scientific committee shall write an official report for the secretariat stating that all the candidatures submitted have been duly considered and shall present a short list to the Grand Jury of the KIA. The Scientific Committees of the Khwarizmi International Award cover the following disciplines:

Scientific Committees

  • Electronics & Computer/ Software & Information Technology
  • Mechanics/ Mechatronics/Aerospace
  • Chemical Technologies/ Nanotechnology
  • Agricultural & Natural Resources
  • Basic Sciences
  • Biotechnology & Basic Medical Sciences/ Environment
  • Civil Engineering
  • Art, Architecture & Urban Planning
  • Materials, Metallurgy & New Energies
  • Industrial Engineering and Technology Management
  • Medical Sciences